Knife? That’s not a knife. That’s a knife.

Setting the scene…While in New York City a man jumps Dundee and attempt to rob him at knife point. Dundee replies, ‘Knife? That’s not a knife. That’s a knife.’ He then pulls a very big knife on the guy that jumped him. This scene is a good reminder that so much of what we consider ‘normal’ is all a matter of perspective. Our perspective is bound by our cultural norms and expectations.

With the weather turning cooler  here is has prompted a friend and I to exchange emails about what is really cold. She lives in Texas and we are in Indiana. We both travelled a fair bit and we are both laughing at the different reactions to what people call cold.

“burr! I can’t believe how cold it is this morning!”
– from a girl living just outside of Houston, TX – weather at the time was sunny skies and about 60* F. (16*C)

“I thought it was going to be cold this morning, but it is 30*F (-1*c). off to walk the dog!”
– friend who recently moved to Boston, Mass., from Austin, TX, but he grew up in Alaska.

“Time to turn on the heat!”
– Florida resident – I looked up the weather in her area, and the high today is 78*F (26*C).

“Wow! 7*F (-14*C) degrees with a wind chill of -10*F (-23*C) and no two-hour delay?? Poor kids….really cold at the bus stop and walking up the trail at the high school.”
-someone who is from the midwest and still lives there

“This time agree it’s cold. We were shorts and t shirt yesterday.”
someone from England living in Florida. Temperature at the time 51*F (11*C)

So let’s just remember that it’s all a matter of perspective and live, love and laugh together.

PS it really is cold here today with a high of just 10*F (-12*C) but PLEASE don’t tell my friends who live in Canada or the Arctic Circle ’cause they’ll laugh at me! hahaha

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knife? That’s not a knife. That’s a knife.

  1. Alley says:

    LOVE IT! Great post! I am laughing out loud at my computer.

    Like

  2. Emilie Reading says:

    Great!
    My friend (who is from Germany, grew up in Canada, but now lives here) and I (from UK, grew up in Turkey, and now live here) were walking home yesterday evening and she says “This wind is really strange, because it’s strong but it’s not like a cold biting wind” I just looked at her with disbelief and responded “Really?!?!?!?!? It’s biting me pretty hard!”

    I guess Canada cold and Turkey cold are very different!

    Like

Leave a comment