Nanny Dot

I have spent my life, from the age of 10, living overseas from family members. Obviously, at the age of 10 I was with my parents and siblings, but everyone else was overseas. Today it is my husband’s family who is overseas.

Today, we saw Nanny Dot (my mother-in-law) for the first time in TWO years!!! I was unable to be at the gate when she walked through, but I spent time thinking about this….

That moment when you see someone you love dearly walk through those gates.

That moment when the joy you experience is a slice of heaven right here on earth.

That moment of overwhelming emotion.

These emotions remind you that you are alive. Positively alive.

I know other people experience things like this. CS Lewis even wrote this in ‘Surprised by Joy’, but I believe that people who live overseas experience greater swings in emotion than the average person. When you are feeling low don’t forget these moments!

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nanny Dot

  1. bumissmichele says:

    I’ve had kind of a ‘low’ week- a heavy, culture shock/loneliness is setting in week. So somehow other people’s joy- an email from a friend experiencing breakthrough in family relationships, a photo of a cousin about to bust in her final weeks of pregnancy, and facebook statuses about someone’s mother-in-law arriving make me sooo happy, and I’m afraid, silly as it is, bring tears to my eyes. -Relating your joy to the whole living-overseas-thing was helpful to me tonight. Feeling not so alone. Timely blog- thanks! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

