Bittersweet

images-7My brother, David, married the sweetest lady, Amanda. Sometime ago during a rough patch she handed me a book and said ‘I just finished this and I think you’d like it.’  I stuck it on a pile that I have that is my ‘to enjoy with a cuppa tea/glass of wine pile.’ I mistakenly thought it was a fiction book and grabbed it as some ‘escapism’ when my husband and I went away for a couple nights recently.

Oh. my. lands. My sister-in-law knows me so well. There are several things I have wanted to blog about this book but tonight the chapter titled ‘Say Something’ actually made me cry. It touched me deep. Shauna Niequest, the author, had been through some rough times and she talks about how saying something – even the wrong thing – is better than saying nothing.

Funny her life and mine are quite paralleled. I won’t go into huge details here as that is not the point of the post. The point is this….we all know people who are hurting and we so often don’t know what to do. We feel awkward. BUT do something, say something even if it is just ‘I heard what happened, and I don’t know what to say.’

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

