Tennessee Biscuits and Gravy

images-6I was going to post this status on Facebook ‘I spent 6 years of my very early years living in the Johnson City/Erwin, TN area. The last week or so I have been craving REAL biscuits and gravy! I have tried it several times and places since being back in the USA and it is just not the same. I know I can’t make it, but I might just have to try and make it my mission to succeed!’

But it was getting to wordy! Gah!

Mamaw Love went to be with Jesus a couple months ago, maybe this is a form of grief for her. Maybe her passing has simply triggered a wave of memories. Either way my craving is strong and it always makes me a tiny bit teary.

Mamaw Love and our neighbor Grace both used to feed me full of southern food. Wanda Sparks fed my love for southern pork chops! I am so hungry now!

Richards Residence has mastered Spanish Paella and English Roast Dinners. I think Southern Biscuits and Gravy might be our next challenge!

My food is one way you know I am cross-cultural 🙂

PS I am open to receiving any good recipes for biscuits and gravy or indeed any other ‘can’t live without soul food’.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tennessee Biscuits and Gravy

  1. countrychase says:

    Your aunt Lisa makes pretty good sausage gravy.

    Like

  2. Cynthia says:

    Simply said, we need to talk. I make a pretty mean gravy as well as several other cultural dishes. Although I have never traveled or lived abroad, my tastes have always had an international flair and at the Schafer’s, we have German night, Italian night, Paella, Jambalaya / creole night, Chinese (authentic), and yes good old southern meat and potatoes. Sounds like we would enjoy cooking together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

