Culture

Culture is such a huge topic and I know I have blogged about it before, but since in the last week or so I have had the ‘it’s all cultural any way’ conversation several times I thought I’d blog about a couple of things that cultures define as ‘right or wrong or normal’ and really it is just cultural.

How we raise our children and the expectations we place on them is really a cultural issue. Think about it…even down to how we feed and carry and sleep with our children is a cultural issue.

The role of women. I was really thinking about this one day when it hit me like never before the struggles that some women face when moving to cultures where women are highly suppressed. A couple really good friends of mine have done this and done it very well! That really impresses me!

Or what about the way our culture shapes our expectations of our spiritual experiences? Do we expect God to move in tangible ways or, maybe, not so much? I was listening to a Christian radio station that prompted this thought. The president of the station was really open-minded saying that although he had never experienced more than a quiet whisper from God he knew God was capable of so much more and often spoke in audible voices!

Oh and last but least…how much flesh is ‘normal’ to expose on a beach – hahaha

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

