coffee vs tea vs ?

I wrote this status a few days ago….I became a coffee drinker because when travelling it is one drink you can get virtually anywhere in the world!

After several comments I realized that this needs more explaining! At heart and given 100% ‘how I would have it’ I am a tea drinker; but it has to be PG tips, strong with a splash of milk. The water must also be boiled in a kettle and, yes, I can tell a difference if the water has come out of the tap vs filtered!

Hands up I am a tea snob!! But here is where the confession just begins….i am also a coffee snob. I like whole bean coffee freshly ground and made in a french press. The water needs to be from a kettle (same as tea!)….

I have no hope….I am shamelessly a snob when it comes to my drinks! Here is the good news though…I can drink just about anything.

Coffee has become my drink of choice when we are out and about or when we are travelling because 1/there are less emotions attached, 2/ there are less expectations, 3/ I can ‘doctor’ a bad cup of coffee to make it drinkable ;0)

So that answers the coffee vs tea question and the ‘?’ is because thanks to my brother David, who lived with us for 3 years, I sometimes crave a mid afternoon can of coke!!!

I put on 20 lbs while he lived with us and I blame nearly 3 years of an afternoon coke together while we talked. (Funny, he has been moved out 2 months or so and I have lost 5 lbs of that again) 🙂 love ya, Dave!

So while tea is first choice, a coffee will always do, sometimes it is a coke I crave.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to coffee vs tea vs ?

  1. stacey Redpath says:

    that is SO true! I actually dislike coffee but I like it better than a cup of microwaved water and a tea bag : so for me in French cafés, coffee is the drink! Tea also costs about 3€ and a coffee 1€50, so it’s a no brainer. But back at my house: TEA IS KING! 🙂

    Like

  2. Emily R says:

    ha! For me it’s the opposite… where I live tea will ALWAYS be 100x better than their attempt of coffee, and 100x cheaper!

    Like

  3. Liz H says:

    Another vote for TEA!
    If my assistant is making drinks I always have coffee. Never known someone manage to make such a BAD cup of tea but at least her coffee is vaguely drinkable.
    Been trying to train her for 5 years to make tea properly but have now given up!!!
    😦

    Like

  4. Janelle says:

    I am a tea drinker….kettled boiled tea bag seeping and a splash or milk and sweetner! I’m not so snobby when it comes to actual tea bags, though there are definitely places where you enjoy your tea more than others! I love Earl Grey and Lady Grey tea as well and they are a welcome break from the norm! I drink around 4 cups a day as I am at home all day.

    I do get made fun of sometimes for being an American and not drinking coffee, b/c of course, all Americans love coffee! I have started drinking my own ‘mochas’ and loving them!! So that is about as much coffee as I can stand!

    And I only take milk in my tea b/c of living in England. When I first arrived it was black tea with sugar, but by accident had a ‘white’ tea, I greatly enjoyed it!!

    Like

  5. Jeff G. says:

    Hopefully you won’t lose respect for me, but I’ve never had hot tea in my life. Coffee, on the other hand, fuels 98% of my consciousness every morning, so it’s good to know I can find it so readily around the world!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Put The Kettle On, America « The Laughing Housewife

Leave a Reply

