Friends are Friends Forever

The last couple days have caused me to think about the song ‘Friends are Friends Forever’ by Michael W Smith. It is ‘cheesy’ as we say in England but this song still sums up my life in so many ways! Released in 1983 just 6 years later, in January 1989, I made my first overseas move at the tender age of just 10 years old.

This song was sung to me many times over the next two decades as I moved back and forth between America and England, but today there are several people who I would sing it to, not because they are moving and not because I am moving, but because they understand the meaning of true friendship. They have stood with me in one of my darkest hours and proclaimed their loyalty.

Isn’t that real friendship is about?

Putting aside yourself for another person is not something that this world thinks is ‘cool’ or right. Everything in this world screams ‘Look after number one first!’

People who understand true friendship come along once or twice in a lifetime.  I am thankful that I have those types of friends in my life right now right here in Carmel, Indiana.

Over the years I have been blessed to have true friends at various stages of my life. I am also very thankful for the internet and the ability it has given me to keep in touch with true friends. The invention of Facebook and Skype have truly blessed my life!

Here are the lyrics to that song incase you wondered!

Packing up the dreams God planted
In the fertile soil of you
I can’t believe the hopes He’s granted
Means a chapter of your life is through

But we’ll keep you close as always
It won’t even seem you’ve gone
‘Cause our hearts in big and small ways
Will keep the love that keeps us strong

And friends are friends forever
If the Lord’s the Lord of them
And a friend will not say never
‘Cause the welcome will not end
Though it’s hard to let you go
In the Father’s hands we know
That a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends

And with the faith and love God’s given
Springing from the hope we know
We will pray the joy you live in
Is the strength that now you show

We’ll keep you close as always
It won’t even seem you’ve gone
‘Cause our hearts in big and small ways
Will keep the love that keeps us strong

And friends are friends forever
If the Lord’s the Lord of them
And a friend will not say never
‘Cause the welcome will not end
Though it’s hard to let you go
In the Father’s hands we know
That a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends

And friends are friends forever
If the Lord’s the Lord of them
And a friend will not say never
‘Cause the welcome will not end
Though it’s hard to let you go
In the Father’s hands we know
That a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends
To live as friends
Though it’s hard to let you go
In the Father’s hands we know
That a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends
No a lifetime’s not too long
To live as friends

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friends are Friends Forever

  1. Rachel Richardson says:

    Love you friend!

    Like

  2. Tifney Fields says:

    Oh yes, this was a song that I heard many times as well. It still makes me cry.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Friends are the family you choose « BelieveHopeLoveInspire

  4. Pingback: Going back in time. | ~ Dancing with fireflies ~

Leave a Reply

