When is it ok to call your new home ‘home’

Suzi’s question: When it’s ok to call your new home home even though some of the people you live around/minister to still consider you an outsider.

My answer: Oh boy! I don’t think there is a ‘right’ answer to this one! 20 years of living in England and some people still refered to me as the ‘American’ and I even held a British passport! Go figure that one out.

To some people you never have the right to call your new home ‘home’ and, yet, others are offended if you don’t! Talk about a rock and a hard place. I guess the answer is therefore….call it home when YOU are ready too. Of course, you have to be sensitive to those around you AND you may find yourself in a situation where your skin color may NEVER allow some people to think you have the right to call it home.

For me my accent is a give away. The English people call me and American and the Americans call me English – go figure 🙂

PS I love people askign me questions – so fire away!!

 

 

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When is it ok to call your new home ‘home’

  1. Larry Gibson says:

    So, you’re not from around here, are you.

    Like

  2. Donna says:

    I have been thinking about this question a lot lately. I think you can call your new place “home” when it escapes your mouth in a normal conversation. For example, I am sitting in a hotel in Zagreb, Croatia. Tomorrow I am heading “home” to Chisinau, Moldova. But I have only lived there 10 months. But about 3 months ago I started calling Chisinau home without thinking about it. I noticed it when I said it the first time. However, I have not been called on this. Maybe my family or my Indiana friends would not be too happy to hear this, but I will have to see.

    Donna

    Like

  3. Em R says:

    I’ve been calling my normal country of residence home from after just living there a couple of months….. it just would come out of my mouth. I didn’t realize just HOW much I considered it to be home though until I got ill. When you’re ill the one place you really want to be is at home… although I’d been flown back to my “home” (passport country), I just ached to be at HOME, a place I’d only lived a year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

