Don’t Panic

Ok, here is something eye-opening I learned about myself when I got the news about my brother….I didn’t panic.

I was upset, but I didn’t panic. I called friends to pray, but I didn’t panic. I made sure my children were ok (they were at my sister’s house where the accident happened), but I didn’t panic.

I must apologise to Katie, who I was with at the time, because I know I was distracted waiting for my phone to go off again. I also know I asked my sister a million and one questions – sorry Autumn!

But why did I not panic? Why did I wait with Katie until Jason arrived? Why did I ask Autumn a million questions? Why did I sit and wait with Katie rather than jump into her car the first time she offered?

Why? I think the answer is because I have received at least a dozen or so of these calls while living overseas. There was the phone call when my mom had gone into hospital (she was fine but I was moving and going on vacation = no contact for 2 weeks and wondering what was going on!); the call when my grandpa had fallen off a cliff and was air lifted to hospital; the time, Sam, my brother was in hospital severely dehydrated and still vomiting; the time David, my other brother was coughing up blood in hospital after a snowboarding accident….those are the ones that spring to mind. I am sure there are more.

What have I learned each time I receive a call like this?

1/ As as many questions as possible.
2/ Call back and ask more questions.
3/ Realize the best thing you can do in that moment is pray.
4/ IF you are close enough to ‘do’ anything put your own ‘house’ in order before making a move out the door.
5/ Everytime I think I am close enough to ‘do’ something I simply end up sitting in a hospital waiting room.
6/ My view of death makes my reaction to these phone calls unusual!
7/ Abigail’s seizures and Jacob’s overdose gave me an interesting perspecitive on death.

 

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Panic

  1. Nessa Matthews says:

    I hear you. Like you I don’t panic. In fact I think I am too laid back. I can observe and sort out with out getting up tight. Why? I don’t know but I think God allows a few of us to be calm/ peaceful/ question because let’s face it, someone has to have their head on whilst everyone else goes mental. 🙂
    The down side is it seems to some people that you are uncaring.
    My husband is complete opposite. He becomes a headless chicken and will react before I have had a chance to assess. Drives me nuts. But I love him for it.

    Like

  2. Cynthia says:

    I don’t think you have to live overseas to develop these skills. Some of us are just wired that way. It is interesting how life colors your reactions to events and God uses our past to prepare us for our future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

