Lapel

My mom and step dad live in small town America.

Lapel, Indiana according to the 2010 census has a population of 2,068. The size of a big city church in these parts; yet they have 6 churches I believe!!

Every year they have a ‘fair’ and it really is a great slice of ‘the way things used to be’. I love how everyone knows everyone. Cars and houses are left unlocked. Neighbors sit on porches and actually talk to each other! Imagine that!

Anyway, I saw two things today. One I bought and the other I wanted written down because I probably should have bought it!

The first was a t-shirt that said ‘The Lapel World Fair’! I’m not sure what I am going to do with that shirt yet, maybe hang it on a basement wall! It was too good to pass up at just $6! Lapel knows they are small town, but those who live there love it. They are also the ‘salt of the earth’ kinda people who are willing to make fun of themselves.

The second was a plaque that said this

 ‘Life is not about waiting for the thunderstorm to pass, it is about learning to dance in the rain.’

Living overseas is pretty much one big thunderstorm to a lot of people. I am trying to learn to dance in the rain and remember that it is all about perspective.

PS It should also be noted that every time I go to Lapel I want to drive a golf cart around the streets just like everyone else! Maybe next year….

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lapel

  1. Nessa Matthews says:

    That is one of my favourite quotes. So true. Sometimes I think we make more of it and instead of just dancing to the beat, we sit and wonder what dance would be best. Why we have to be so technical, rather than just being simple.

    Like

Leave a Reply

