Third Culture Kids

I’ve been asked by several good friends or family member if this book is worth the read.

Yes, Yes and Yes!! My cousin, who spent a number of years in Bolivia, asked if she could borrow or if she should just go buy it. My answer ‘Go buy it. You’ll want to own a copy.’

The first time I started reading his book (my brother, David, told me to read it). I didn’t even make it through the first chapter before I was crying. It was a good cry though. A cleansing cry. I’ve read things in this book so far that have thought for years and finally had them confirmed.

My recommendation is that if you have spent and length of time overseas that you read this book. Wether an army brat, an MK or your parents travelled on business you are a Third Culture Kid (TCK) and I highly recommend you get this book!

I read this quote on the 4 July….”Confused loyalties can make TCKs seem unpatriotic and arrogant to their fellow citizens.” pg 81 . It is things like that quote that remind me I am ‘normal’. (Well, as normal as any TCK can be ;0)

I also loved the section most before this quote about how an expanded world view is very valuable and highly marketable in this day and age!

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Third Culture Kids

  1. Pingback: Designed for Travel « communicating.across.boundaries

Leave a Reply

