Island Mentality

As you will know we went on vacation and arrived back this weekend. We drove to Florida from Indiana. Google Maps claims 16 hours and 20 min of driving time door to door. It was 994 miles I believe, so for argument’s sake we are going to call it 1000 miles.

Here is the wild thing…I’ve spent 20 years in England where we definitely have ‘island mentality’. IF we had ever gotten in the car and driven 1000 miles we would have been deep in Spain and had to cross the English Channel.

Driving from Northampton to Birkenhead was a major undertaking and 1000 miles would have been

…3 round trips from Northampton to Birkenhead.

or Northampton to Birkenhead to Northampton to Birkenhead to Northampton to Birkenhead to Northampton! And for the record we drove home all in one day!

The point of this little story. How we view things is so often shaped by the world/culture we are in.

 

 

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Island Mentality

  1. Rachel says:

    So true. I even adapt culturally to that as well. When I’m in the UK I think that a journey of two or three hours is long (you need to stay the night if it’s that far away!)Here in Spain I could travel there and back in a day (just for lunch even!) and that’s normal.

    Like

    • Angela says:

      Rachel, this made me chuckle! Whenever we went went to Graham’s family we tried to stay overnight! Here, like you said, I drive over an hour to eat at my favourite restraunts! 🙂

      Like

  2. John says:

    Kind of like driving 1500 miles just to pick up a car.

    Like

Leave a Reply

