the big hills

 “How life goals are just like climbing the big hills.  You need to break them into smaller more manageable goals”. Don Schafer

Don and Cynthia Schafer run an organisation called ‘Camptown’. It is a rather amazing organisation that reaches 1000s of underprivileged children and teens each year all across the greater Indianapolis area giving them hope for a better future and sharing their personal testimonies about how Jesus can help give them hope.

Anyway, this quote was one that I wanted to make sure I grabbed and wrote down. Living overseas is a ‘mountain’ and sometimes just surviving a day or even hour is a great goal. Or maybe for you it is going grocery shopping or heading to language class. Maybe it is simply saying hello to a neighbor in a different language or trying a new food. What about just not complaining about your life for one day?

I have a friend that was going through a really tough time and she used to have a ‘done’ list rather than a ‘to do’ list because her theory was sometime I can only think about what I have done rather than what there is to do!

Success for each one of us looks very different.

 

 

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the big hills

  1. Emilie Reading says:

    No directly related to this post… … but I love you and I love this blog. Many quotes and things you have said come to me on at least a daily basis and keep me focused, grounded, and motivated to keep going.
    xxx

    Like

    • Angela says:

      thanks, Emily! But I think you have the slightly harder ‘job’ 🙂

      Rachel, it is a FAB idea! and sometimes when i feel like I’ve gotten nothing done I go back and think about what I did rather than what is left ‘to do’!

      Like

  2. Rachel says:

    I love it! A “Done” list. Smart woman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

