Great Uncle Bob Land

Today has been an emotional day as we buried my Great Uncle Bob. Now I am sure most of you are thinking ‘what was so special about Great uncle?’

I guess the place to start is with my own Dad. Dad’s Dad (Harold Foust) died in a trucking accident when Dad was just 5. He left a young wife and 4 young children. Grammie’s family rallied around her. Judy and Don, Marian and Bob both lived within a few houses of Grammie and her children and both had children of similar ages.

So those two families became more than aunts and uncles to my Dad and his siblings they became extra parents. In fact, Bruce Land, Bob and Marian’s son, was called ‘uncle Bruce’ by me and my siblings for many years! I think I was about 10 when I finally realized that he was my Dad’s cousin not brother! That made him my first cousin once removed not my uncle!

Just for the record my sister called him Uncle Bruce just the other day….then realized what she had done. She shrugged her shoulders and said ‘He’s as much of an Uncle to me as some of my other Uncles!’

Tragedies can either draw a family together or push them apart. I am proud to be part of a family that has been drawn together.

I am sure that those who watched us drive to the grave site and saw a car full of 5 ‘young’ people laughing couldn’t believe that we could be so happy at a funeral, and trust me tears flowed freely more than once today, but over all my cousins are closer to me than many sibling groups I have met.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Extended family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Uncle Bob Land

  1. Pingback: Dad’s family part 2 | Richards Residence

Leave a Reply

