Rebel

The image you see to the left really is the image from one of my favorite wines ($5 a bottle from Trader Joes for all you locals!) This image says so much…I look like a Zebra if you are looking at me from the front, but not from any other angle (and those stripes are just painted on anyway!)

ok, I admit it. I have a teeny tiny bit of a rebellious streak in me.

Two friends were recently talking about me (in front of me!) and when one said ‘Angela has a tiny bit of a rebellious streak.’ The other friend hit the floor laughing and said something to the effect of ‘Maybe just a bit more than tiny.’ Good job I love those ladies! 🙂

Anyway, here was a recent example of what made me realize this all over again….when I went to a Catholic High School they all gave up things for Lent and when they would ask me what i was giving up I usually responded something to the effect of ‘I don’t feel like I have to give anything up as I believe Jesus’ love and grace is bigger than that’ or whatever I felt would bother people enough to get a reaction.

Now that I am living somewhere where no one really talks about Lent or gives things up I find myself giving up all sorts of things or cutting back or really thinking about the holiday.

A few people have asked me why I observe Lent. The first couple times I gave great spiritual answers, but the truth is I think I just enjoy being different.

One thing that living overseas has taught me is that to be different is something to celebrated not something to be worried about and definately not something negitive!

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rebel

  1. Amanda Dean says:

    loved this! We are more alike than u think lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

