Serving as Senders

oh my goodness….18 pages into this book and I already L.O.V.E. it!!!

It has already confirmed what I believed about the rollercoaster of emotions you go through living overseas AND that if you are not well prepared the results can be catastrophic!

Because of the emotional rollercoaster magnifies emotions (both highs and lows) we are talking suicide, mental health issues, self harm, life controlling issues, addiction. Serious stuff!

woot woot!! Hands up if love this book just from that!

Many of you will know I started this blog because I was watching several friends live overseas and struggle. I hated the fact that churches, corporations, missions agencies, businesses, etc thought they could just send people to live overseas with little or no preparations and they’d be fine.

ummm, no they won’t. It is hard as heck! Over the last 23 years I have learned that preparation is one of the keys. It doesn’t guarantee success, but it certainly helps!

Anyway, I shouldn’t get ahead of myself. I am only 18 pages in after all, but it is already looking to be a GREAT book!

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Serving as Senders

  1. Kristin Sismey says:

    Hey, we got that book from ECM as preparation for going to Germany. We thought it was great and got a copy for every person on our support group. Most of them were quite overwhelmed with it though … as in – too many “new thoughts” on the churches relationship with it’s missionaries. But it helped them to think about how to support us best. I think it should be compulsory reading material for any church that sends out missionaries.

    Like

  2. Emilie Reading says:

    Sounds fantastic! I’d love to read a copy one day, let me know if you still think it’s worth it by the end of the book!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Serving as Senders Summary | livingoverseasandlovingit

Leave a Reply

