The Methodist Overseas Guest House

I haven’t posted much about ‘My Story’ in a while so I thought I’d tell you about living in the Methodist Overseas Guest House in Selly Oak, Birmingham, England.

First, I have to say it was FAB. It was a community of about 300 people at any given time who were all living together in the same building. We all had out our apartments (flats as they are called in the UK). People came and people went over the days/weeks/months and we were one of the longest staying ‘guests’ at nearly 2 years.

During those couple of years I learned how to say good-bye and make friends quickly. I also learned how to TCKs (Third Culture Kids) really are an accepting bunch of people.

We only had small apartments, so we spent much of our time in the common areas or outside in the vast green areas that surrounded the very old very large building. We also played great games of hide and seek in those vast corridors! What fun!!

I also have great memories with Katheryn Rice and my sister, Autumn, of trying to make a phone and signal system from our landing window and her toilet window! hahaha Those were great days!

There is so much I could write about this place, but the important thing was it was a great place to learn to live overseas…with a couple hundred people all trying to do the same thing!

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

