4 people, 4 bags, 2 weeks vacation & a load of Christmas presents

Well our trip to England presented itself with a fresh and new challenge….only 1 bag per person instead of the usual 2 we had previously been allowed. My first thought was sheer panic! i mean how in the world were we ever going to spend two weeks in England and get all those presents (not to mention chocolate!) home in just 4 suitcases!

Graham, the ever calming influence in my life, assured me we would be fine. I, on the other hand, remained unconvinced until the night before our flight home. However, he was right thank heavens 🙂 Why did I ever doubt?

How did we do it? I’m still not sure, other than I remain convinced that a minor miracle occurred.

Here are some things we tried to do:

  • Pack for only a week and do laundry half way through.
  • I tried to pack mainly jeans and black tops with colored accessories.
  • We tried to make sure all gifts were small and reminded the kiddios that good things come in small packages 🙂 Lots of clothes, books, DVDs, things that could be taken out of packaging and stored in ziplock bags.
  • Graham packed like a true man.
  • Only two pair of shoes. One pair of crocs and one other. Boots for the girls and Jacob had black tennis shoes/trainers.
  • We packed it all in duffel bags that have more ‘give’ than a suitcase!
  • Oh yea and virtually no toiletries! We bought and left them there.
About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life, Travel Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4 people, 4 bags, 2 weeks vacation & a load of Christmas presents

  1. akdean2008 says:

    I get one bag for four months so I understand the dilemma! I’m taking ur advice on the plain t-shirt thing and then bringing a lot of accessories so it doesn’t look like I’m wearing the same thing every day 🙂 thanks for the advice!

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    Oh my. Your post just made me go check what my luggage allowance is for our flights to England and realized we only have one bag each instead of the 2 I’d assumed. I was going to pile 2 cases full of presents so will definitely have to rethink that one now. Maybe I can wear half my clothes at once 🙂

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Having 4 kids made packing light something we learned early. For our recent trip to Hawaii we each packed one duffle which could be carried on so as to not have to worry about lost luggage. I’m all for the no toiletries policy if you can buy them where you are going. Even in Hawaii where things are pricey it’s cheaper to buy stuff there and then leave it than it is to pay $25 to check a bag!! Even still I took clothes I never wore!!

    Like

  4. Lisa, you read my blog?! you make me happy!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

