Unrest back ‘home’

Question: How to deal with / what to do when things are falling apart back “home” Family issues, deaths of friends or family, problems with sending churches, things like that.

Answer: First, I think it is import to know there is no ‘right way’. In each of these situations I thought of several different scenarios and several different answers.

The other thought that struck me was how much this answer has changed over the 22 years since my family first left for England.

20 years ago – no internet, lots of letters and a few phone calls. It was a $1 a minute to call ‘home’! That means that information that go back to my parents was  fairly limited. It also usually meant it was fairly critical and so late you could rarely do anything about it. I remember my mom flying home on her own for her great grandpa’s  funeral. If I remember correctly she did even make it for the service, but she did get to spend time with her family and that was the important thing.

By the time she got the news and all the arrangements had been made it simply took too long. Remember no internet to get on-line and book those flights in the middle of the night!

Fast forward 20 years and you may well know someone is in hospital via any number of social networks (we all know my personal favorite is Facebook!), then been able to Skype and get details and your trip booked ‘home’ only to realise it wasn’t nearly as serious as you first thought.

I think the biggest issue we face in 2011 and in the future is going to be knowing too much. We then have to sift through all that information and decide what is important and what is not and who we rely on for accurate information. Let’s face it. There are some people who love drama. They love creating drama and being part of it!

Another really important factor is being self-aware of how we make decisions and things that are important to us. Is family important? Who are our closest friends?

Before you move I think it is important to know the kinds of things you would fly home for and those you wouldn’t. My hubby and I played out varrious senarious and who would do what. It’s good to know I’d fly back for more than he would. Then I won’t get frustrated when he still here and I think he should be there! ;0)

Not sure all that answers you question, Emily, but those are a few initial thoughts. Let me know.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

