unsettled feelings

  The last week or so I’ve had a few bad days or bad moments. I emailed a friend to talk it through. A ‘safe’ friend. Someone not attached to anyone or anything going on to get a bit of outside perspective and she emailed me back this…

when I lived in Germany (many years ago, lol!) someone once said the homesickness/wish to go home hits at 2 yrs, 3 yrs, 5 yrs, 7 yrs… and then 15 yrs.

We have been here 2 years. ha. I don’t know if it was home-sickness, a desire to go back or something else, but I *think* it may have passed for now. I did take matters into my own hands. I did a few things I like to do, spent some time on my own and repainted a room.

Painting always gives me lots of time to think. I didn’t come to any conclusions, but I did start meditating on all things good and I spent a lot of time praying/thinking for people in my life.

It was just a reminder to me that living overseas often adds an extra dimension to our beings. We are cross cultural and we struggle to feel at ‘home’ anywhere. It was also a good reminder to take time for myself to not dwell on those things that drag me down, but those things that pick me up. Happiness is a state of mind and I needed reminding of that.

All that said I spent most of today looking at colors similar to these….

Which means I have, one painted bedroom, one happy 7-year-old girl and a more balanced emotional state.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

