Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

I read this book over Christmas in England. It was wonderful. Although not technically about living overseas it one a place in my heart with the style of writing.

It is written in letter form and based just after WWII has ended.  When one writes in letter form it is slightly more challenging to read, but so much more interesting! Incase any of you read this (and I highly recommend it!) I won’t give too much away other than to say it does involve a move from the mainland to the isle of Guernsey. Two very different cultures. It also challenged my views of ‘typical writing styles’.

My dear friend and mentor, Naomi, recommended it to me and it was good enough that when/if we manage a summer vacation this year I want to take it with me again! That says a lot in my book.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

