Don’t forget to Breathe pt2

Why did I post that yesterday? Because I had been looking at pictures from a year ago with my brother. In these pictures I was in paint clothes and I have been painting most of this week!

We moved to Carmel, IN two years ago this months. anniversaries are often a time for reflection.  This anniversary is no different. Often I am frustrated by the lack of progress we have made on our home. Then I stop. Breathe. And remember that 2 years ago we had 32 boxes and 8 suitcases to our family’s name. That was it. No furniture and no electronics. Just some clothes, toys and a few personal belongings.

Then we moved into a home that had been foreclosed on. It needed a ton of work and was almost 4x the size of our home in England. The basement had NOTHING 4 ft and down (turning off the utilities meant no sump pump to pump water out of the basement). The double story entry was half painting and the flooring throughout the house needed redone (not to mention it all needed repainting.)

Well, today we have furniture in all the bedrooms and main floor. The main floor has been repainted and has new flooring. Two of the bedrooms have been painted and the basement is done except for the kitchenette/bar area and what will be a wine cellar.

When the last two bedrooms and bathrroms are done we will recarpet and when we get back from Christmas break in England we will start savign for the furniture in the basement.

We’ve also turned what was a 3 bedroom home into a 5 bedroom home.

Sometimes though when I am covered in paint or dust from my brother working on the kitchenette/bar I want to scream, but then I stop. Breathe. And remember how far we’ve come in just 2 short years!

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t forget to Breathe pt2

  1. Laura says:

    “finding joy in the journey” You have been a joy to get to know, Angela. We will continue to find the joy together as we journey with Christ as a church! Love ya, girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

