A little secret

I’ve had something on my mind for a few days and have been debating wether to post it now or later. Now won.

It is this little secret….happiness is a choice. Someone once said to me that it is very rare to know someone who has experienced all the things that I have still be happy. I laughed. Let me assure you that living overseas was not/is not always a wonderful. (As an aside I had a couple people ask me recently if I am always as happy as my facebook status says. In a word no, but sometimes speaking/writing it helps to make it so!)

My reply was this, ‘That is because I choose happiness every day. No, that’s incorrect. I try and choose happiness every minute of every hour of every day. Sometimes I am more successful than others, but it is still a choice.’

I probably should have saved this post for much later on, but I couldn’t help it. This mind set is so fundimental to who I am. That is not to say that I always get this spot on. Far from it. When we moved back to the States 2 years ago culture shock hit me big time and early on. It was hard, but I would try to cling to the things I love about being here. The little things like the seasons and Reeces cups whenever I wanted!

It did get easier to find joy, but most days I have to make a conscious decision about happiness.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in General principles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little secret

  1. Alley says:

    you can still post this later at some point. we all need to be reminded to choose happiness.

    Like

  2. Shelly Hamilton says:

    Angela, this is SO true! Happiness IS a choice……choosing HOW you respond to things and situations in life rather than just reacting can make a huge difference ! not saying it is always easy but it is a moment by moment decision. The more we practice it, hopefully the more of a habit it will become. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

