God size box

Everyone has a box that they try to put God in. Maybe, a better way to say that is we all have a limited understanding of God and that puts him in a box. There is a childrens song that goes ‘He’s beyond out wildest dreams.’ He is. But we can only understand him in the ways that our humanness allows us.

It is very limited. Some people will understand him more or less depending on their experiences that this life has given them, but it is still limited.

I loved reading ‘The Shack’ this summer. It expanded my God size box.

I went to a MOPS (Moms of Preschoolers) group and I listened to a testimony about someone who nearly lost their daughter. It expanded my God size box.

Living Overseas expanded my God size box. I hope it has yours. (or will yours :) )

Why did living overseas expand my God size box? Because you realise that things you considered ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ were only cultural norms. Because your dependence on everything you know is stripped away. Because you no longer have a support system. I’m just glad I’m a christian and what happened when I moved overseas was that my God size box grew!

About Angela

Having been a missionary kid (MK), a national missionary, a preacher wife, working for a missions agency and working for a church's missions department Angela has seen about every side of living overseas. Some of her experiences have been great, some not so great, but she wouldn't change her life for the world. Growing up overseas is something to be celebrated. With the right outlook it can change your life forever.
This entry was posted in General principles, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

